Hacking blog

My experience with Adblockers (so far)

here, I'll try to Document my experience using adblockers, my opinions on them, and related topics.

uBlock Origin

This is by far the best adblocker I've ever used, does most things out of the box.

you can enable the "Parse and Enfore generic cosmetic filters" option to get rid of the empty space left by ads.

Filter lists

you probably don't need more filter lists than the default ones, however there are some useful filter lists that I've listed below:
Web Annoyances Ultralist
fuckfuckadblock

Adblock syntax

uBO's syntax is easy to learn, even though you don't need to know the syntax, I still recommend learning how to write your own filters if you're a power user it makes the browsing experience much better. in addition to blocking elements, uBO can modify the style (CSS) of the page as well.

Adblocking DNS servers

It is not recommend to use another adblocker along with uBO, so why use adblocking DNS servers ? well, they can block ads and trackers system-wide.

I've listed a few Adblocking DNS servers below:

Some VPN providers also offer DNS servers like mullvad.

Finally, it might be tempting to enable all filter lists in the adblockers, don't the amount of false positives is not worth it.

Android Adblockers

there are a few good adblockers on android

Adguard Android app

best one imo, can be replacement for uBO if your browser doesn't support it, the only one that has cosmetic filtering afaik.

RethinkDNS

it's great if you don't need cosmetic filtering.

PersonalDNSfilter

has a bit of a learning curve and not as easy to use as other apps, but it's great.

that's it for now! hope you liked this post, if you want me to update the page or have something to comment then you can email me at hacker999[at]riseup.net